RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Harry Potter sorting hat... kind of.

Daanonkerr

Wanderer
A Harry Potter sorting hat... kind of.

Ok, I am kind of very new to this whole thing, and have a 1/2 of 1% clue as to what is going on in the programming end. I have a tall order to ask of someone who is looking for a challenge.

Background: I am building a cyber summer camp with RunUO for school kids grades 4 and 5. We are going to do a Cyber-Kid-Nation. With activities both in and out of game. We are going to need to split the kids up into 4 different houses, I am going with elemental based guild names of earth, wind, fire, and water. I would like to be able to randomly assign them a guild to join in game in a dramatic way. Rather then rolling dice or picking colored chips out of a hat out of game.

My Idea: I love the sorting hat in Harry Potter where each new student is sorted into one of the four houses according to the requirements of he house etc. Would it be possible to work a randomized system by which up to 20 students would be sorted into one of four houses? Now I don't want to put a hat on the in game toon and have it say one of the four house names. That has already been done. BUT... what if instead we had a platform/alter shaped like a plus with neutral being in the middle and each of he four elements on each of the four ends, when you step on the center you would be randomly teleported into one of the four house receiving areas.

Very simply designed like this...

Now we can dress it up a bit better put the whole thing on a white marble platform, ceremonial flames etc but I think this needs to be the core of it. The only thing I would love to add would be Earth, Wind, Fire, Water icons instead of the virtue symbols.