RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I am new to runuo and have a few questions...

Archaaz

Sorceror
I played UO back in 1997-98, and love it (quit because it was interfering with real world obligations). I have returned sporadically over the years to try out various free shards, though none has quite fit exactly what I am looking for.

The notion to create my own shard has been in the back of my mind for some time, though I have never really delved into actually realizing this vague dream. Looking over the forums, I admit that am a bit overwhelmed by the complexity and volume of it all, but I am certain I shall learn as everyone else does, over time and with careful study, asking questions, etc. I have begun compiling a design document on a wiki as a first step.

Before I begin to entertain the notion further, I would like to submit a few questions, if some of the more knowledgeable members (which is pretty much anyone but me) would indulge me. First my situation; I am retired, and spending my time traveling. My current computer is an ASUS netbook (not great, I know, but cheap an potable, and, until now, sufficient for my purposes). A desktop is not really feasible, as I will be traveling for some time, though a laptop is a definite possibility.

Now for the questions: