RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Linux help

mikeymaze

Wanderer
Linux help

how do you run terminal in Linux i am trying to turn my server into linux and one can help me please post i download wine and yum and rc2 but not sure how to run them

mikeymaze

Wanderer
yes i know that i am kinda new to it and not sure how to run the commands in the terminal i think i installed wine using Yum but now i am lost on how to use wine to install UO ML
i am downloading UO ML ON Linux right now and should be done in a few hrs
i installed mono for windows i think but not sure if its the right on or now i believe my new host is running CentOS

greywolf79

Sorceror
Just remember that you will want to use UO rice on the client on a windows install so you can use it with free shards on linux (but you will need to make sure you use UO rice on the same version of client on windows that you have on linux, otherwise it will not work right).

GreyWolf.

karth

Wanderer
Wine is only required to run the client if you plan on playing on your shard from a Linux box.

Otherwise running the server on linux is pretty straightforward. As far as I know, you should use yum to install the relevant RPMs fro your distribution's repositories.

You just have to make sure that the mono related packages are up to date (minimum required version: 1.2.6).
Once they are installed (the list of required packages are listed in the first post of the topic linked by greywolf), check out the last revision of runuo from the repository:

Code:
svn checkout http://svn.runuo.com/repos/runuo/devel/ runuo2

This will download the last sources in a runuo2 directory. Then go to runuo2/Server and run the build command from the above linked topic.