RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to RunUO, my newb guy contribution

TerrorUDL

Wanderer
I am a software developer, CompSci grad from late 90s who happens to have played UO back in the day. Some old players from the early UO days may remember me. Anyways, I thought my first post should be my compilation of a few start guide posts here that were older and not quite complete for what I thought would be the most useful start of anyone (experienced or not) to start hacking on RunUO.

So please forgive me if I shouldnt be doing this, here is my guide to getting RunUO setup so you can start coding and debugging with it. Shout out to Vorspire for his tutorial that got me most of the way.

For the record, my background is embedded linux mostly in C/C++ and recently, cross platform web apps mostly in python (among other things). I have had zero C#.

----

If you are going to do development with RunUO, you really need to use a good IDE to help you edit, build and debug your code. Since RunUO is C# (Microsoft programming languange), Visual Studio is the way to go. The overhead may seem intimidating to you if you are new to writing code, but no worries, I will make it easy to get you started.

Go get Visual Studio Express
Unless you are a cool kid with a MSDN subscription, you need to go grab the free version of Visual Studio, VS2013 Express. This can be found here: http://www.visualstudio.com/products/visual-studio-express-vs Simply go to this location, click download, select the Visual Studio Express for Windows Desktop and click the Install option. It will take a few to run and setup, but it will do everything for you. No expertise required.

Grab RunUO Full Source