RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What Programs To Have?

fuzzydice

Wanderer
Hello Everyone, I am glad to be a part of this community. I have worked on sphere, but this is my first attempt at runuo. After doing some reading I see that there are MANY tools that are used and I found it a bit overwhelming not knowing which tools I needed and which I didnt. I would like to put together a comprehensive list of exactly what tools are needed to customize your shard. I think that would make a great sticky and everyone new to runuo would appreciate it. Please post the tools you find nessasary and what they do and I will add them to the list. Thank you!

GM Tools
Pandoras Box 2
http://arya.altervista.org/

Pandoras Box 3
http://code.google.com/p/pandorasbox3/downloads/detail?name=PandorasBox3.0.0.5.zip

MAPPING SOFTWARE EXPLAINED
by Safera 02/09/2013

If one were to start from scratch making their own maps, they would first create a .BMP of their map in Photoshop, GIMP (or some other graphics program). They would then take their BMP, using a BMP2MUL program to create their map.mul, statics.mul & staidx.mul files from that newly created bitmap.

The following programs are BMP2MUL Editors (which allow you to convert a bitmap drawing of a map, into an Ultima map).

BMP2MUL Editors (in order of perceived popularity):

• UOLandscaper by DKnight
    • All later versions are said to be based off of 1.1
    • DKnight is working on a new version (01/13)
    • Uses 2 bmps: 1 for terrain and 1 for altitude
  • DragonMod by Ryandor
    • (while 11 is the latest, 9 is said to be the least buggy & 10 is warned against)
    • DragonMod uses 1 bmp to create maps.
    • DragonSP (Dragonsp.exe) creates your staidx0.mul and statics0.mul files.