RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Which Client and version of RunUo should I use?

Archaaz

Sorceror
Greetings. I have been working on a shard on and off for a couple of years. I started with POL, then made a tentative post here some time ago, but was overwhelmed by C#. I finally settled on Sphere, but have recently decided to return to RunUo and give it another try. Bear in mind that I am not a programmer, though I have learned a bit about scripting in general by working with POL and Sphere, and wish to further my knowledge.

I have decided to start small and build. My first goal (and one that I have not quite been able to actualize yet) is to establish a stable, fully functional, fully spawned server (not for live use yet). Before I download the latest version of RunUo and the Client, I want to make sure that this is the best choice for my intended project.

First of all, the focus is on RP and immersion (and probably voluntary PvP. I have not decided yet, but whatever the case, PvP will play a relatively small role).

Secondly, I want to create a look and feel reminiscent of old school UO. Somewhere between Pre T2A and UO:R. With that said, the overall, old school aesthetic is more important than recreating the authenticity and particulars of a certain era. I would like to spawn the world along these lines (doors, decorations, signs, mobiles, etc.). There is very little I wish to use after UO:R, though I would eventually like to use certain skills, or modified versions of those skills from other eras, and also wish to have full access to all 57 skill slots, as well as a few items and artwork from later eras. I do not want elves or gargoyles. ninjas and samurai, or any items related to them.