RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help a teacher make education better.

zythezero

Sorceror
Hello all,
I am a teacher, I travel to different countries and I am very passionate about education. As of now I am getting my masters' degree in elementary education, I will certified K-12 (7-12 social studies) after September. Recently I had a great idea. I thought I could use minecraft to teach my students about a lot of subjects, just as an example because it is 3D I could use it to teach volume. Then I got really thinking. Isn't UO a hundred times better and can do so much more? Then I recalled these forums. I am not asking for people to script for me, I am asking for your expertise and guidance in finding already made scripts that could be used to complete this project. I have a good understanding of how UO works but am a little shaky where all the scripts go. Here is exactly what I am looking to do:

Create a simulation for students of what it would be like to attempt to build a colony or start an early civilization (depending how I modify the lesson and game content)
They would need to be able to:
1. Till soil and plant crops. - think UO live has someway of making this possible
2. Cut down and plant trees. - same as above, possible with UO live?
3. Raise and breed animals. - would also be nice if anyone knew a way for tamed pets to die if they were not fed.
4. Build structures. (houses, barns, fences, walls, ext) -This one I know there are a hundred ways to do it but I was hoping for feedback what you would think is the best way.
5. A way to measure tiles if possible.
I would like to be able to: