RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Project: Homeshard

scadeus

Traveler
Hey folks,
first of all let me introduce myself: I am 20 years old and currently living in germany. I hope, what I'll be writing does not sound like the usual 'omg i wanna set up my own runuo server pls halp' you probably read sometimes here on the forums. I have been playing UO for the past 8 years, so I'm a post-golden-era-player. :p I used to run my own little server under uox3 a few years ago, but i thought, i might give it a try with runUO to build a little and walk around in the world i made. Unfortunately, many important files for building up a homeshard have gone amiss over the years, so i thought, i might collect all the things i used to upload them together with a bunch of tutorials for those who try to set up a server in the future.

So here is what i want to do in particular:
  • letting the server run under runUO on my own computer, maybe together with others some day.
  • creating a custom map by using centrED
  • walk around on that map afterward

So this is what i managed so far: I was able to run either centrED or runUO, but not both using one installation. The clients I've tried so far: Age of Shadows, Mondain's Legacy, Stygian Abyss (7.0.3.0), Second Age. I was only able to edit the map with centrED under AOS, when I tried to use any of the other clients, my cedserver.exe just closed after entering Admin-Name and PW. When i tried to log into my AOS client after starting RunUO, i was stuck at the Character Creation screen.