RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

[Tutorial] First Quest -> Bunny Attack

fearyourself

Wanderer
[Tutorial] First Quest -> Bunny Attack

Hi all, I didn't know about this sub-forum so I posted this rant in the Script forum, I'll put it here so that more people can find it ;)

Any optimizations are welcome, I'm only a noob...

Introduction

Ok, I've only been looking through the UO scripting system since yesterday and yeah I've started C# pretty much at the same time. But I tried yesterday to play around with the system and it took me a while to centralize all the information needed to make even the most basic quest...

So I'm starting this thread so that you can tell me what I'm doing wrong or what I'm doing right ;)

Take this thread as a learning rant by my part, tell me where I'm wrong or what I've done badly that way I can correct myself :)

Hopefully the moderators won't be too annoyed but I learnt a bit, wasted lots of time trying to gather in one place this information. If a moderator prefers to delete this thread, don't worry I won't mind ;)

Story of the quest :

Basically this is an excuse to play around with the scripting language : Bob is a mobile we'll be creating and he'll give you the opportunity to have fun killing 10 rabbits (cruel world isn't it?).

If you say yes then 10 rabbits are created next to Bob, if you say no then he'll just ignore you after that...

Now since we're in a MMORPG, it's possible that another player comes around and tries to kill the rabbits, we'll have to handle that later and I'll show two techniques I found to do it ;)

Oh, and I forgot, the reward you get for killing the 10 rabbits is a nice black bear :)