RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RunUO 1.0 - 24 hour notice

krrios

Administrator
RunUO 1.0 - 24 hour notice

Tomorrow, January 21st at 9:00 PM EST, RunUO 1.0 will be released to the public.

I founded RunUO in May of 2002. Like all my projects before that, and all after, RunUO was simply about learning. It was about pushing myself--learning new systems, learning how to code them cleanly--simply producing quality code. Nearly two and a half years later, RunUO has matured beyond anything I would have previously thought possible.

As a programmer, all I have learned is self taught: I first learned to program not by reading a book, nor by taking a class, but just looking at other peoples code and then digging in--seeing what I could do. In many ways RunUO has made this possible for others. The final step will be taken tomorrow; the core source code will be made publicly available for all to learn from.

It is my hope that this will give back something to the community that has made RunUO what it is. If I can give something back to one of the 40,000 users on this site, or to the countless players worldwide who use this software, then I'm happy. RunUO has always been a quest of knowledge for me, and now others can use it for the same.

Being involved in this project over the past years has been an amazing opportunity for me to meet so many talented individuals. To talk with them, work with them, and share a love for both programming and the game is something truly unique, and I am deeply thankful to you all for being involved in this project.

Now that I'm done being all sentimental, I'll see about getting a preliminary changelog for your guys.

Triper99

Wanderer
OMG FINALLY! TOOK YOU LONG ENOUGH!!! j/k

on a serious note,