RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Denial of Service attacks???

Status
Not open for further replies.

RoninGT

Sorceror
Denial of Service attacks???

Forgive me? but what is a Denial of Service attack? I guess i am a newb but i was reading ryans post and saw the website last night. was down. Just wondering?

Thanks

Ronin

stormwolff

Knight
RoninGT said:
Forgive me? but what is a Denial of Service attack? I guess i am a newb but i was reading ryans post and saw the website last night. was down. Just wondering?

Thanks

Ronin

Basically its when somebody sends so many packets to a server that it gets bogged down and nobody else can use it.

Service is denied due to the overwhelming amount of concurrent connections.

RoninGT

Sorceror
I see, thanks for the fast reply bro. Sad to see that ppl have nothing better to do with there lives than to do crap like that. lol if they would just get laid might clear all that stuff right up :p

Ronin

Thraxus

Sorceror
People can be rather petty about things. This is likely the work of someone who got banned from the forums and/or the official RunUO team shards and decided that if they couldn't be part of the RunUO community, then they'd try to ruin it for everyone.

brandon948

Wanderer
It has to do with the Defiance shard. Theres a lil' fued going on between the two (UOGamers and Defiance) and blame is being pointed at the other from the opposer.

I don't know who's right and who's wrong (if there is a right and wrong in this matter) but I don't see why it can't be cleared up before it gets more out of hand than it has already.